I came, I lindy-ed, I passed out

Whew! Washington DC was the place to be last weekend (if you’re into lindy hopping. If not…you’re boring.) It was amazing, I was in lindy hop heaven. There were SO many great dancers there and I was lucky enough to dance with many of them.

The entire weekend was so organized, it was amazingly fun. I took the bus in Friday and met with my aunt who was in DC for the weekend. Saturday morning, I attending the Fast Dancing class with Todd and Kelly (two world class lindy hoppers who have many awards to their names). Great workshop! For once, there were so many leaders that they had to rotate instead of the followers.  I also went to the ladies jazz routine with Naomi, another amazing swing teacher.  The workshops were so much fun, I learned quite a bit and even ran into my friend Lisa!

I left in the afternoon to meet up with my aunt to tour around DC (I forgot we were in the nation’s capital…I just wanted to dance.)  The coolest thing there (besides the lindy hop event) was the International Spy Museum…and of course, the numerous national monuments scattered about DC. That evening, they held an open dance with competitions interspersed. The most amazing to watch – the Lindy Hop Showcase.  Couples’ routines can have as many aerials as they want, meaning people were flying left and right! I taught my aunt the basics, but after one dance, she decided to stand in the back row and watch.  I think I received a late birthday present – dancing with leads who actually knew how to lead properly.

****************************************************************************************************************

Today (9/13) I’m attending an aerials class!  I convinced Rich, THE tallest guy around (he’s 6’5), to come with me and throw me around for 3 hours.  Hopefully, I’ll get some good pictures!

Leave a comment